Why I love to wait at the airport

Waiting at the airport can be a good opportunity to do things that we would usually postpone. For people who are scared of taking the plane, the hours before the flight can be used to reduce stress. Also, flights can be quite demanding especially if the plane is full, crying children are sitting near you or if you take a long distant flight. Being in a good mood and relaxed before boarding a flight can make the experience much less painful.

In this article, I am not going to give you obvious tips like reading a book, find the WiFi access or duty-free shopping. I am going to give you my best tips to turn these hours of waiting into an enjoyable and productive time that will put you in the best conditions to take your flight.

why_i_love_to_wait_at_the_airport

Go to a VIP lounge

VIP lounges aren’t always super expensive or accessible for first class travelers only. On my way to Lisbon, I had more than three hours to wait at Madrid airport. I went to one of the VIP lounges and for 24€ I had access to all the facilities of the lounge. Food buffet, drinks, great WiFi, nap room, conference room, comfortable seats, newspapers, shower, etc. It was really worth it. Time passed by very fast and I could do a lot, like ordering for the third time my French health insurance card, finish one of my blog post and work on a design for my blog. I really think it is worth the price and I will do it again. 

Strengthen your friendships

We all have pending messages of friends or relatives that we take ages to answer to. Waiting at airports is for me the best moment to answers these messages. You can  just take a sit and focus on your messages and phone calls. It is always nice to chat with a friend or a family member. Doing this makes me feel good and gives me energy for the rest of the day.

Relax your body and your mind

If you have your yoga mat with you and can find a quite place, doing some yoga postures is the best way to relax before a flight, especially if you are scared of flying. Traveling can cause a lot of tensions in your body. Carrying bags and sitting for hours is painful for your back, your neck, your shoulders. Yoga is the best way to get rid of all this tension. If you are very anxious before your flight, you should try meditation. Read my article on how I fight stress and anxiety. You’ll discover how I meditate with a simple tape saved on my mobile phone.

Improve your knowledge

We spend a lot of time scrolling the web and social media. We often come across articles that we don’t have time to read. Traveling gives you plenty of time to finally read them all and find new ones to read. Also, when I know I will travel and have a lot of time to kill, I flag the new Youtube videos of my favorite channels and plan to watch them at the airport. This way, I have something to look forward to instead of being bored about the fact I will have to wait for hours.

Delete useless pictures on your phone

Having thousand of pictures on your phone isn’t really useful and it takes space on your phone, plus, you will probably never look again at the picture of you trying this piece of cloth that doesn’t fit you well at all. The nice thing about this is that you’ll find pictures that yo’ll watch pictures of good moments, your friends, funny videos, and all kind of really good memories. Your mood will be pumped up and your phone lighter. In the same category, you can also clean your laptop desktop and order your files.

Pump up your creativity

In my every day life there are many things I wish I would like to start doing or simply do more. While waiting for my flight, I sometimes draw or write what I have in my mind. I try my new camera and explore the settings and take some pictures. An airport offers many possibilities for pictures: the light, the landing and taking off planes, people, etc.

Listen to the new albums of your favorite artists

It is rare to have time dedicated to listening to music. At home, you can be distracted by something you want to do or has to be done, someone visiting you, etc. I really like to focus on the music I am listening to, especially when I discover new songs of my favorite artists and waiting at airports gives me the opportunity to do that.

After applying some of these tips, you should be in a good condition to fly peacefully and relaxed with the good feeling that you’ve crossed a few things off your to-do do list.

I am very curious to know how you use your time at airports or prepare yourself before taking a long-distance flight. Don’t hesitate to leave a comment, I am looking forward to reading you.

Enjoy your flight.

Thank you for reading. Take care.

Leave a Reply

